Aaron Judge Triple Crown Chase

Since the All-Star break, any talk of a potential Triple Crown winner in MLB this season has largely centered around Cardinals first baseman and National League MVP favorite Paul Goldschmidt. But as we get to the final week of the regular season, it’s a Yankees slugger Aaron Judge Joe is in better position than Goldschmidt and became only the 11th player in AL/NL history to lead his league in batting average, home runs and RBI (since RBI became an official statistic in 1920).

Judges have mainly been making headlines for themselves AL single-season home run record chase Out of 61, set by Roger Maris 61 years ago. judge two more homers slammed He was set to extend his season to 59 against the Brewers on Sunday, becoming only the sixth man to hit 60 or more homers in a season. But as his march on Maris’ trail continues, Judge also finds himself leading the league in all three Triple Crown categories with just two batting average points.

With his 4-for-5 day on Sunday in Milwaukee, Judge raised his batting average to .316, second in the AL behind Twins Luis Arez, who hit .317 with Red Sox shortstop Xander Bogarts. Is. And, needless to say, Judge leads all baseball in homers—he’s got 20 more than Phillies’ Kyle Schwarber, who is second in MLB—and RBIs (Judge leads the Majors with 127). .

Here’s a breakdown of where the judges stand in their bid for the first Triple Crown since Miguel Cabrera in 2012, and 13th place in AL/NL history:

Sunday stats: 4-for-5, 2 HR, 4 RBI
Last 10 matches: 19-for-38 (.500), 4 HR, 9 RBI
next game: Tuesday vs. PIT, 7:05 pm ET

batting average: .316 – Third in AL (Leader: Luis Arrez, .317; Bogarts second at .316, ahead of decimal points)
Home Run: 59 — 1st
Runs batted in: 127 — 1st

Here the greatest judge of all time will join in if he performs the feat. Since the RBI became an official state in 1920, only 10 different AL/NL players have won the Triple Crown with two-time winners. There has only been one Triple Crown in the Divisional Era (since 1969).

2012: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers (AL)
1967: Carl Yastrzemsky, Red Sox (AL)
1966: Frank Robinson, Orioles (AL)
1956: Mickey Mantle, Yankees (AL)*
1947: Ted Williams, Red Sox (AL)
1942: Ted Williams, Red Sox (AL)*
1937: Joe Medwick, Cardinals (NL)
1934: Lou Gehrig, Yankees (AL)*
1933: Jimmy Foxx, Athletics (AL)
1933: Chuck Klein, Phillies (NL)
1925: Rogers Hornsby, Cardinals (NL)*
1922: Rogers Hornsby, Cardinals (NL)

* = Led all AL/NL players in all three categories

Note: Six players led the AL or NL in all three Triple Crown categories before the RBI became official figures.

Ever since Cabrera won the Triple Crown in 2012, several star sluggers have been chasing the Triple Crown – including last year’s Vladimir Guerrero Jr. Here are five recent players who have come up short.

, Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (2021, AL): Vlad Jr.’s Triple Crown push in the MVP race against eventual winner Shohei Ohtani was a big story, but although he tied for the AL home run crown with 48, he remained in batting average (.311, behind Yuli Gurrill’s .319). Be in second place. ) and fifth in RBI (111, 10 behind league leader Salvador Perez).

, Marcel Ozuna (2020, NL): Ozuna led in home runs and RBIs during the short season, but his .338 average put him third behind the Nationals’ Juan Soto (.351) and Braves teammate Freddie Freeman (.341).

, Christian Yelich (2018, NL): Yealy’s NL MVP campaign for the Brewers included a batting title and narrow omissions at homers (36, two behind Nolan Arenado) and RBIs (110, one behind Javier Baez).

, JD Martinez (2018, AL): Martinez was the AL RBI winner and finished second in both homers (43, five behind Khris Davis) and batting average (.330, 16 points behind Red Sox teammate Mookie Bates).

, Miguel Cabrera (2013, AL): Migi almost won two straight Triple Crowns, earning the title at home batting, but nine homers and an RBI finished behind Orioles slugger Chris Davis.

Three things to know about the Judge’s Triple Crown chase

• Will become the third player in the judge Story History of the Yankees Joining legends Lou Gehrig (1934) and Mickey Mantle (1956), to win a Triple Crown. Three players to win the Triple Crown would be the most for any Major League franchise – the Cardinals (Joe Medwick and Rogers Hornsby) and the Red Sox (Ted Williams and Karl Yastrzemsky) are the other teams with multiple winners.

• If the judges win the Triple Crown this year, the first Triple Crown in AL/NL history will be 100 years after Hornsby won it in 1922.

• Unless Goldschmidt can win the NL Triple Crown, a judge will extend Triple Crown AL’s run of the Triple Crown because the last one in the NL was won by seven. The last time an NL player won the Triple Crown was 85 years ago, when the Cardinals Medwick won it in 1937.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.